365. I’m feeling a bit verclempt today.

Here it is. The end of 2008. I have successfully posted 365 days in a row. Who knew it could be done? Not me. I was my biggest doubter. I joined on a whim and did not have any confidence that it may end in success.

A funny thing happened along the way. Every single day I posted. I rose to the challenge that I threw down for myself. I’m not saying that I posted funny, intriguing, relevant things every day. It was not a year of my best writing. Some days I struggled for something to say. But you always held me up. You encouraged me by commenting and emailing and sharing your life. Blogging became a great conversation amongst friends.

You were there for me through the boring posts, through the sorrow you lifted me. We had a laugh or two. We cried. And now, we celebrate.

Quite the occasion, this.

So, thank you from the bottom of my heart for being here. Day after day. Month after month.

Thank you.

~~
So, what’s next? Perhaps you are wondering that also. I wonder. I will not commit myself to another year because there are days that one must take a day or two off from blogging. But they say that it takes 30 days to create a new habit. I personally think it’s longer than that but I’ve had 12 chances to make this a habit. We’ll see tomorrow, then, won’t we?

May 2009 find you happy and healthy.

26 Comments

Filed under stuff

26 responses to “365. I’m feeling a bit verclempt today.

  1. Did the 365 wear your other blog out? 🙂

    Happy New Year, Sandy! Wishing you a good one. Hoping to see you in August.

  2. Thank you for sharing your year with us, my Sandy. No one would have blamed you if you had taken a few breaks, but you carried on with us. I, for one, am grateful.

    I hope you do continue. I think it’s good for you and your daily posts mean I don’t have to hunt you down nearly as often. ;^0

  3. I may be a crappy commenter, but I’ve been reading the whole year, and I will miss seeing your daily posts! Be well, and Happy New Year.

  4. Hopefully, for our sakes, your addicted enough that you’ll post frequently if not daily. Two months about did me in and I can’t imagine how you (and Terry) did a FULL YEAR! (For Norma it’s a walk in the park.) You deserve a big medal, a bouquet of a hundred (make that 365) roses and fireworks to end your day. Happy New Year, my friend. May 2009 be full of love, joy and knitting!

  5. Congratulations on your year of blogging, Sandy! I sure hope you’ll post frequently although I can understand not posting every day. I’ve enjoyed this year of Sandy!!

  6. Patrice

    Thank you so much for sharing your year. I wouldn’t have read the Mermaid’s Chair except for you, and I was really glad that I did. I have enjoyed the touches of Massachusetts that you share, as I have fond memories of time spent there. And I share your pain in losing your FIL as I lost my Dad this year. And I actually think that I could keep up with your knitting, as opposed to some other amazingly prolific knitbloggers! Thanks for all your sharing, and I really hope you continue – if it makes you happy.
    Happy New Year

  7. Beebs

    Thank you so much for your 365 blogging. You went thru some really tough times, some that might have brought lesser mortals to their knees; you never wavered. Your strength has been incredible. Of course I hope that you can continue, but will be very happy to have you blog as often as it makes you happy. Happy New Year!!

  8. Dear Sandy, I will miss you terribly if you don’t blog every day but I imagine you’d like to have a life as well!

    I hope 2009 is wonderful for you and congratulations on emerging from 2008 in one piece!

  9. Congratulations! It’s been great seeing you here every day. Have a wonderful New Year.

  10. Happy New Year, Sandy!! Congratulations! Wishing you all the best in 2009 — and I’d like to read all about it!

  11. Sandy, good job on reaching your 365 blog goal. Its been great hearing from you every day, but I’ll certainly understand why you might want to post a bit less. Happy 2009!

  12. I agree with Cookie (and everyone else), but Cookie especially, because I think it’s been good for you. It’s brought you out of your shell and forced you to find a way to connect even when you might not have otherwise.

    So, c’mon! Join me again! XOXO

  13. meezermeowmy

    Congratulations, and thank you for sharing your year with us. We now have the “Sandy” habit, and look forward to hearing from you.

  14. I thought you did a beautiful job on blogging this year. I have treasured sharing your life. Even through the bad stuff you showed such grace.

    You matter to me no matter how much you blog next year.

  15. Happy New Year, Sandy! A big mmmwah! to you and the kitties.

  16. Thanks for taking us along for the ride this year — all of it! Wishing you a wonderful 2009 …..

  17. Happy New Year Sandy! I’ve enjoyed your daily posts and hope to see many more in 2009. You come up with topics that always make me say “I wish I’d thought of that.”

  18. HOORAY! WE DID IT!

    I am feeling a bit mixed myself. I love everything you post, you are such a personality and the real you comes through every day. Thanks for being a support and conspirator in this year. Mwah!

  19. Happy New Year! I’ve enjoyed reading what you have to say. Please keep it up! 🙂

  20. nat

    You did it Sandy! Awesome effort – thanks for blogging through the tough times, it was a wonderful opportunity to get to know you a bit better. Take care, hugs, nat xx

  21. Adelaide

    Good job! Please try to keep going.

  22. Barbara M.

    Can’t tell you how much pleasure you have given me this year. Enough to make me consider trying to figure out the complexity of opening a blog for myself, because I’d like to make some new friends for myself in 2009, and a reason to blog might also increase the actual amount of knitting/gardening/thinking that takes place around here! Thanks for being there every day….. I have an enormous amount of respect for your accomplishment.

  23. I’ve watched you and Norma with total awe. I had a hard time posting every day in November! And I’ve already gotten lazy about posting at all.
    Thank your for all your hard work! (And I do know that it is hard work…)

  24. mindy

    may i have the pattern for the herringbone rib scarf? it is smashing.