I am knee deep in laundry: good thing I don’t have to drag it down the river and beat it on a rock!

Even though I am not blogging everyday in reality, my mind is still blogging every day. I take pictures, write the posts in my mind, plan them out. And you did not comment! Scheez.

πŸ™‚

So, I have pictures to show you on this sunny Sunday. It’s odd to have sunshine on a Sunday as the past couple of months have brought Sunday Snowstorms. Poor Andy doesn’t know what to do with himself, no shoveling. No. Only kidding. He is ecstatic.

(I am currently watching a show on the Duggars. They kind of creep me out)

That is neither here nor there.

First up? A package that came in the mail. Making my miserable little day. (I remember that it was a horrible day) Margene really knows how to make a statement. Yarn that is so great looking and soft, handspun by Margene’s talented little hands. (No picture of that, but it is gorgeous!) (you’ll see it someday made into something special!). Yarn spun by a friend? Can life get any better?
Well, if your name is Mitchell, it can:

Thank you, Margene~ Um, NO, Myron, Margene did NOT send any....mmmmfrrrfffmmmm....gulp.....treats. Honest. I'd share with you!

Thank you, Margene~ Um, NO, Myron, Margene did NOT send any....mmmmfrrrfffmmmm....gulp.....treats. Honest. I'd share with you!

Salmon kitty treats. All natural and no junk food in them, Margene was paying attention to their diets. There are chicken flavor too. I have learned that Myron is not much of a snacker. He waits for his food. So they are all for Mitchell. You won’t hear him complain! And there was chocolate. Was there? Yes, I remember chocolate. It is LONG gone of course. I mean, really. Chocolate doesΒ  not last long.

Thank you, Margene!

~~~

And then there are the shrimps. (Skrimps, as Bethany and I call them from an SNL skit) Not just any shrimp but Maine Shrimp, which make an appearance in the fish stores only during the cold months. They are small and sweet and oh so good. The shells slip right off and I sauteed them with olive oil and garlic with a squeeze of lemon juice. They are to die for. I encourage you to try them. Unless you are allergic. Don’t come crying to me if you are allergic.

Get them while they last! These guys are in the shell. So easy to peel and cook!

Get them while they last! These guys are in the shell. So easy to peel and cook!

Mmmmmmm

Mmmmmmm

Amaryllis

Amaryllis

What is winter without an amaryllis? (Please don’t tell Mitchell that there is a plant hiding in the kitchen. He has not eaten it yet.)

This is the only amaryllis that grew this winter. I usually have a slew of them but somehow I only ended up with this one. I do have another that did not grow at all which sucks but what are you going to do. I’ll enjoy this single bloom for as long as it lasts.

See the sun on this Sunday? Okay, not technically a Sky shot but you can imagine, right?

See the sun on this Sunday? Okay, not technically a Sky shot but you can imagine, right?

Alas, the laundry needs to be switched. Next time, when I am writing blog posts in my head? I hope that more of you will respond!

heh.

β™₯

13 Comments

Filed under stuff

13 responses to “I am knee deep in laundry: good thing I don’t have to drag it down the river and beat it on a rock!

  1. Dude, that is a seriously gorgeous amaryllis. It’s enough to make me question my tepid attitude towards amaryllises (amaryllii?) They’ve always seemed like they never perform to their potential for me. Big huge green stalks and maybe a flower if I’m lucky.

  2. Gorgeous amaryllis! Why did I think I should just get one? Thanks for improving my upcoming winter. πŸ˜€

    I just read about Maine shrimp when I was in DC two weeks ago! I can’t get them in Wisconsin, so I’ll have to enjoy your yummy-looking pictures.

  3. Mmmmm, shrimmmmmp.

    It’s weird, but I love my new washer-dryer pair so much that there is NEVER knee-deep laundry here anymore. I’m sure the honeymoon will be over sooner or later, though. πŸ™‚

  4. I promise I will try much harder to comment on your blog posts in your head. Did Mitchell get any shrimp?

  5. OK, shrimp are one good thing about cold weather. Time for some attitude adjustment on my part.

  6. It snowed here Sunday. That’s because it was my day off. It always snows on my day off. Always.
    *sigh*

  7. I watched some of the Duggars last night too. Eww. Did those kids really get engaged without ever even kissing?! Had to turn it off.

  8. Maine shrimp…must see if they can make their way out West. Mitchell is one lucky kitty! πŸ˜‰

  9. Barbara M.

    I need to apologize for the comments I’ve been sending (in my head) not getting to you! As well as the Christmas cards I’ve been sending (IMH) and all the other letters, phone calls, and e-mails I’ve been sending (IMH) to you and to all my other friends and relations!

    I loved your post, Sandy…. I often carry on long, imaginary conversations with friends(IMH, of course) and sometimes I forget I didn’t actually communicate with them, just supplied what I thought they would respond! Glad to know I’m not alone!

  10. Beebs

    You’re so right! Those sweet little Maine shrimp are wonderful. Gorgeous amaryllis!

  11. Love the flower and the snarling kitty picture! Cats are so crazy and give us the best photo ops!

  12. Margene is a wonderful cat auntie.

    Shrimps from Maine?! Who knew?

    Love the bloom!

    My Sandy, you really don’t want my voice in your head. Trust me. o.0

    xo

  13. Funny, I do that in-my-head thing too, and I know what you mean about the comments. (Speaking of which, I am running a contest, a real live actually posted one, you might want to stop by.) There is nothing, but nothing, like lovely gifts from a friend, nor yummy winter-only treats. And, of course, there is nothing like laundry; winter treats notwithstanding, I can hardly wait for clothesline weather.