almost a tragedy

gnome in the snow but not a dead body, thank goodnessYesterday morning, I saw this sitting on the edge of the melting snow  (not much melting though but we will take a little melting even if it’s a fluke). It is my gnome in a boot planter that I had on the porch steps last summer that did not get brought in before the snow flew. It has been stuck, unbeknownst to me, under a snow pile. Unfortunately, sometimes I don’t take very good care of my toys.

But? When I came outside yesterday at dawn to start the car? It did not yet look like that. It looked like this:

Yipes!

Yipes!

Which, to my morning brain, looked like a BOOT IN THE SNOW! Which technically it is. But I did not grasp that the owner of the boot was a gmome at 6 something in the morning. I thought it was some poor person who had fallen in the snow and has been there for the duration!!

A PERSON IN THE SNOW! I had about a minute and a half of panic. What would I do? Call 911? Who is it? I hope it’s not anyone I know! GOD! There is a PERSON FROZEN IN MY YARD!

My heart was thumping hard as I stood in the cold waiting for the truth to dawn on me. And it did, dawn on me of course.

Oh, right, my gnome planter. Phew!

And then I thought, what would have happened if I HAD called 911? Imagine? All the rescue squads showing up, me, the traumatized bystander wrapped in a foil blanket holding a trauma teddy bear, my husband sleeping through the whole thing upstairs no doubt. The rescuers? Digging in that snow, expecting the worst, would find a GNOME PLANTER.

Should we pronounce Mr. Gnome dead? Or bring him to the hospital?

Poor guy, never had a chance.

~~~

This is progress people! Kitties! Sleeping together! No fighting! No hissing! No clawing! Ahhh, the sweet sound of sleeping kitties!

This is progress people! Kitties! Sleeping together! No fighting! No hissing! No clawing! Ahhh, the sweet sound of sleeping kitties!

This makes me VERY happy that we can have a happy, non violent, pee free future.
I believe.

Yes, we Can.

17 Comments

Filed under stuff

17 responses to “almost a tragedy

  1. Deb

    OMG, you had me laughing so hard today, that is so totally something that would happen to me. Thanks for the giggle!

  2. Maybe you need more coffee before you leave for work in the morning. ;^)

    No more pee?! Yay!

  3. I was going to suggest what Cookie did…more java! Good to hear the little ones are figuring out how to live together. There is hope for us all!

  4. That gnome is stone cold…you know!

    Our cat and new kitten re-enacted World War III (oops, I guess you can’t re-enact something that hasn’t happened, but you know what I mean) for the first two weeks of their introduction (were kept separate for a while then gradually allowed together). Two months later, they are sleeping together, grooming each other, etc. Occasionally with some cats it doesn’t work out, but time alone does so much.

    *Time goes by so slowly, but time can do so much….*
    Sorry, had to.

  5. Joy

    OMG, I can just imaging the poor emergency responders … oh dear 😉 *Love* the kitty photo – great progress!

  6. Even though you had that moment of panic – thanks for the laugh!

  7. Ok, funny now but I would have totally panicked too!

  8. Kate/Massachusetts

    Sandy, if you had called 911 you would have made their day! Considering what they see/do in the course of a week, your call would have brought some humor to their day and probably would have lived on and on and on…

  9. I was going to suggest more coffee, as well.
    You missed the chance to be forever known as the Dead-Gnome-Lady to the 911 folk…
    Thanks for the giggle!

  10. Nuts. No trauma teddy bear? I think Mr. Gnome deserves one.

    Yea for sleeping kitties!

  11. I have to tell you, every time I comment here I get a giggle out of my little crabby avatar. That is soooo me. Particularly today.

  12. Now I’m afraid of what might be in that big pile of ice/snow that I still have. Come to think of it, I haven’t seen one of my neighbors in a while.

  13. That is pretty darn funny about the gnome. Great to hear from you!

  14. Charlotte

    As a teenager, I worked in housekeeping for a large hotel. We needed to look underneath the beds as part of cleaning each checkout. Imagine my reaction when I got on my knees and lifted the bed skirt and saw the prosthetic leg that had accidentally been left behind…..

  15. Hee, too funny, I like Charlotte’s response too. Boots and legs and gnomes oh my!

  16. Betsy

    We call that last shot “Pile-a-Puddy” here :>)!

  17. Brenda

    That is a very funny story. I’m glad you found the gnome before calling 911, although I’m sure they’ve gone out for weirder stuff. Glad you kitties are getting along. I’m new to your blog. Are they new roomies?