What I am knitting, warming certain anatomy parts and a poem. (And? For the life of me, I cannot get the font to change back for the first stanza of the poem. WordPress just about kills me some days!)

Can we imagine, for a minute that it is April 1st today? Please. Just go with it, okay.

Today’s entry, April 1st.

So many guesses for the knitting! One of you got it right! Jo, formerly of Boston, currently of my town (want to go to lunch this weekend, Jo?) said, and I quote:

I’m not sure, but if it’s for Andy then you’re a very lucky woman.

The innocent in me thinks she means gloves. But? I’m sure she is talking about a warmer of a certain sort. CLICK HERE FOR LINK .

This is the time when I would yell out…APRIL FOOL!!

I am not knitting a willie warmer! I do not have that *ahem* item of anatomy but I have never gotten the impression that cold is  problem for *it*.  But I may be wrong and correct me if you know better.

What am I really knitting? The Mars scarf, of course.

This is for Stacey:

snickers for StaceyBut she has to share it with the others who guessed correctly!

So, the Mars scarf. Can we talk? That scarf is…erm….the balls. (Sorry). The pictures do not do it justice. I saw it at the Twist Collective trunk show at Yarns in the Farms (with the wonderific Carol!), falling in love with it. It has a shawl collar which lies really nicely around the back of the neck and will  be super  warm with the cold New England Winds! Love. It!!

You know what else I love?

~A long weekend. Monday is Patriot’s Day, a Massachusetts holiday! 3 blissful days off from work!

~Daffodils:

The big yellow one is the sun, er, the daffodils

The big yellow one is the sun, er, the daffodils


I wandered lonely as a cloud
That floats on high o’er vales and hills,
When all at once I saw a crowd,
A host, of golden daffodils;
Beside the lake, beneath the trees,
Fluttering and dancing in the breeze.

Continuous as the stars that shine
And twinkle on the milky way,
They stretched in never-ending line
Along the margin of a bay:
Ten thousand saw I at a glance,
Tossing their heads in sprightly dance.

The waves beside them danced, but they
Out-did the sparkling leaves in glee;
A poet could not be but gay,
In such a jocund company!
I gazed—and gazed—but little thought
What wealth the show to me had brought:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

William Wordsworth~

7 Comments

Filed under knitting, life, stuff

7 responses to “What I am knitting, warming certain anatomy parts and a poem. (And? For the life of me, I cannot get the font to change back for the first stanza of the poem. WordPress just about kills me some days!)

  1. I meant socks. Really. You know what they say about big feet.

    Unfortunately, I have company this weekend but what are you doing Monday? Or any other time next week–I have it off.

    PS–That is a very fetching scarf.

  2. One of my favorite poems. Perfect for Spring. Enjoy the weekend!

  3. That’s an interesting scarf. It took a while to figure out from the picture – dark scarf on dark coat… 8)
    My daffodils are up about 2 inches now. Can’t wait for flowers! (This is my first time for growing daffodils!) But there won’t be any poems written about my little dozen daffs. Unless I write one myself:
    Hurray! Daffodils!
    Twelve little golden beauties.
    I want more next year.

  4. Such a pretty daffodil. Our daffodils have been snowed on so many times and they look so sad (and almost spent). Enjoy your long weekend!!

  5. Yay for Patriots’ Day! Have a GREAT long weekend.

  6. Dee

    As a 5th grader we had to memorize a poem and recite it to the class and this was my selection. My mom order me a top from one of the catalogs that had a daffodil on it. It always makes me smile. Happy Day!

  7. I went to Wordsworth’s house in the Lake District, and saw the daffodils … or rather, the field where the daffodils supposedly were, as it was not Daffodil Season at the time.

    Mine have finally bloomed outside the kitchen. They make me very happy.