Lilac season

How I love my lilacs!

How I love my lilacs!

“In the dooryard fronting an old farm-house near the white-washed palings,
Stands the lilac-bush tall-growing with heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
With many a pointed blossom rising delicate, with the perfume strong I love,
With every leaf a miracle -and from this bush in the dooryard,
With delicate-coloured blossoms and heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
A sprig with its flower I break.”

~~From When Lilacs Last in the Dooryard Bloom by Walt Whitman

the tallest of them all!

the tallest of them all!

10 Comments

Filed under flowers, poetry

10 responses to “Lilac season

  1. Beautiful! Love the poem too …

  2. chezjlb

    The photos go perfect with the poem. I can almost smell that sweet scent!

  3. madforknit

    That’s a huge lilac! The variegation in the flowers is gorgeous!

  4. Must be the day for posting lilacs!

  5. meezermeowmy

    Ah, how I miss lilacs! When we moved south, I found ligustrums, which look a bit like white lilacs. Beware! They STINK!

  6. The variety with white edges is so pretty and unique. I love it, too!

  7. Beautiful lilacs! Yours are ahead of mine – I’ve got buds starting, but I’m still a ways from flowers.

  8. kt

    Ooh, so pretty. I was just bemoaning the fact that we’re leaving a lilac bush at this house. Looking around the enourmous backyard in the new place, there’s one there, as well! Hurray!