Making dough

You know how it is in the internets, how you find something interesting and you click here and you click there, soon you are far away from your original starting place and couldn’t find it again if you tried?
That’s how it was with sourdough starter. I don’t know how it happened. But it did.
I found reference to Nancy Silverton’s Breads from La Brea Bakery and an interesting 2 weeks sourdough starter method involving grapes.
I mulled it over for a couple of weeks, ordered the book, read it cover to cover and decided I was IN.
I am on Day 4 so far, keeping a bit of a flickr documentary. If you are at all interested in the process, check it out. If not, well, come over for bread in 2 weeks! 🙂
The process is fascinating me and well, frankly, the family are getting tired of hearing about it.
You’d think I did not have a life or something!

♥

15 Comments

Filed under Making bread, Sandy's Cooking

15 responses to “Making dough

  1. Oh wow! I remember seeing Nancy Silverton demonstrating that sourdough starter method on Julia Child’s tv show. You are brave!

  2. I love sourdough and used to keep one for a long time. (though it was not from this method — I ordered some supposedly antique starter from Alaska, supposed to have come down from the Gold Rush, hahahahahah.) Srsly. Anyway, I LOVED it. The problem is, it just keeps MULTIPLYING. Soon we had sourdough pancakes and sourdough applesauce cake (scrumptious, btw) and sourdough bread three times a week, and on and on. Need I remind you that wheat and bread and carbs in general are not my friends? So I had to divorce it. I am a murderer of a sourdough. I’m not proud.

    Also: I’m very glad I clicked to enlarge and get your description on your Flickr page. At first I thought the cheesecloth-enrobed grapes was a dead chicken. I was like, OMG. That’s gross. LXLx

  3. Charlotte

    Honestly, I’m horrified and yet I can’t look away.

  4. I love the smell of fresh bread baking. Alas, I can no longer eat it. The process is quite amazing, however.

  5. Jean E.

    I love sourdough! Sourdough pancakes with real maple syrup are the best. I once even made sourdough chocolate cake. There’s that well- known flour company in your part of the country, where you can find some great recipes for sourdough! Their organic flour is nice, too.

  6. meezermeowmy

    Waiting for sourdough starter is like the definition of a process knitter. It’s all about getting there! 🙂

  7. madforknit

    Yum! I love sourdough but have been too chicken to make a starter. I’m going to see how you like yours and maybe do my own!

  8. I kept a sourdough starter going for the longest time, then “forgot” it, and it died of neglect. Hmmm. I think I need to go start another one… I suddenly miss that sourdough bread. And English muffins.

  9. Manise

    I have always wanted to make this!! Even tried to track down the book which is I thought was out of print. Finally found it, but never followed through. Will have to drag it out and try it. Your photo process/ progress is great!

  10. Kate/Massachusetts

    Not sourdough but bread-baking none-the-less ~ have you seen this book and the Youtube video:

    I have been making the artisan breads far too many times a week this past month!! It really works. I’ve only used the master recipe but if you are baking your own breads, you might want to check it out. Be alert when eating sourdough products – if you have a migraine headache history, it could aggravate it; I think it is because of the fermentation. While I love sourdough, it definitely does not like me!

  11. Kate/Massachusetts

    ??? how did that youtube get in there??? I swear I posted just the link…

  12. That looks interesting. I have trouble with keeping starter going

  13. Charlotte

    Watching these pictures just makes me wonder how on Earth the first person to make this dough ever stumbled across this method and thought it was a good idea. From all outer appearances, this looks like something for Halloween!

  14. Ah, sourdough, sounds delicious, you will call when it comes out of the oven won’t you?

  15. Been there, done it, and LOVED it. It started at the office and it spread all over town and soon we were all indulging in related sour dough. AWESOME.