Pass the butter

Gluten frees~ Avert your eyes! :)

Gluten frees~ Avert your eyes! 🙂

Yesterday was baking day for the sourdough bread from the starter that has been developing for the last 2 weeks. The process is from the book, Breads from the LaBrea Bakery by Nancy Silverton.

The process has fascinated me (and I have to admit, scared me a little at times! haha) from the very beginning of the water, flour and grape starter.
The bread is scrumptious. Worth the wait.  I wish you could smell it!

~~~

And something to wash it down?

I am looking for a cosmo recipe. Bethany got a wonderful martini glass for her (21st) birthday and we are looking to fill it! I found the most perfect recipe for a blue fruity type of cosmo in a magazine and now cannot find it again. Isn’t that always the way? I must remember to ALWAYS rip out an intriguing recipe right away.

Got any you’d like to share?

10 Comments

Filed under life, Making bread, Sandy's Cooking

10 responses to “Pass the butter

  1. Manise

    Nice crumb and texture! Pass me a piece? *reaches in*

  2. tish

    Try Fine Living (dot com?). I’m on an HGTV email list for 12 days of cookies (christmas/Holiday) and get random emails with “best of…” recipes for martinis, mojitos, etc for whatever holiday is close from Fine Living (sister network). Ironic since I don’t drink and my husband prefers a cold Sam Adams over a cocktail. I generally just forward them to my (over 21) daughters and delete, but you may be able to find some good cosmos recipes in the recipe section.
    Bread looks fabulous. Ummm- I can just image it warm out of the toaster with butter and honey or ham, spicy mustard and Vermont white cheddar or dunked into a bowl of soup (my favorite ways to eat sourdough).

  3. Jean E.

    I think I DO smell it; yum!

  4. Beautious bread!
    Do Cosmos go with sourdough?

  5. Hey, if I add

    Sandy’s perfect life.

    I’ll have a haiku…

  6. Mmmmmmm, OMG, I bet that is AWWWWWWSOMMMMMMMME.

  7. I’m not looking away, I’m going to shout hurray for your fabulous from scratch bread!! HURRAY!!!
    Cosmo’s are so, so good and so much fun in martini glasses.
    BLUE COSMOPOLITAN

    4 Parts Absolut Citron
    3 Parts White Cranberry Juice
    1 Part Blue Curacao
    1 Splash Lime Juice
    Orange
    Fill a shaker with ice cubes. Add all ingredients. Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

    This sounds good too!

    BLOOD ORANGE COSMO

    6 Parts Orange Flavored Vodka
    6 Parts Cranberry Juice
    2 Parts Triple Sec
    1 Part Blood Orange Juice
    1 Part Lime Juice

    Fill a shaker with ice cubes. Add all ingredients. Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

    ENJOY!!

  8. It looks fantastic!!!!!!

  9. INGREDIENTS

    * 1 fluid ounce coconut rum
    * 3/4 fluid ounce vodka
    * 1 fluid ounce pineapple juice
    * 1 dash grenadine syrup

    DIRECTIONS

    1. Combine rum, vodka and pineapple juice in a drink shaker. Shake firmly until frothy. Add a dash of grenadine to the bottom. Pour in a martini glass, add a touch of grenadine in the middle. Garnish with an orange wheel. The grenadine at the bottom and in the middle make a “bandeau bikini”. 🙂