Look up, please

~~~~
I had some fatal flaws with my romanticized vacation fantasies.
I envisioned myself rising every morning, rested and ready to take on the world, wandering leisurely downstairs to  sit on my front porch, drinking coffee and knitting while greeting the waking world.
The first problem with that scenario?
I don’t drink coffee.But that did not stop me.
The second, perhaps most important thing?
I did not take into consideration the hour or two that I would spend noodling around on the computer, doing nothing much  of significance to speak of, then glancing at the clock shocked at the time and the mad dash to “get something done”.
Vacations just never are in reality what they are in the imagination.
And just to keep track:
What I wanted to do:
~paint the bathroom
~have a yard sale (implying that i would go through every corner of the house gathering unused/unwanted items and lovingly selling them to strangers)
~visit Vermont
~go to the beach
~cook gourmet meals every night
~Blog every day (stop laughing)
What I did:
~bleached the bathroom
~cleaned out the kitchen cabinets, gathering things for the yard sale
~moved on to the storage “area” (implying that it is a planned “area”)
~Half way through, decided “screw the yard sale!” I hate bargain hunting yard salers, anyway. What was  I thinking?
~piled up all the stuff, intending to bring it to the Salvation Army. And I will.
~I will~
~went to the movie to see Julie and Julia (I LOVED IT! She was almost 40 years old  when she took her first cooking class!
~went to Ikea. Got more stuff. Didn’t I want to get rid of it all?
~spent lots of quality family/husband/friends time.
~went with Jo to the Peabody Essex Museum, which is in the next town. I had never been! Thanks Jo, for the great time!
~Started a book club! Finally! (We are reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. First meeting is September 7th. Want to come?
~ate plenty of farm stand veggies!
Vacation was good. Now, it’s back to the grind.
Not that there is anything wrong with that.

We've Got BEETS!

We've Got BEETS!

~~~
Tonight is the Perseid Meteor Showers. Don’t forget to look UP! (Some of my fondest memories are caught up in this week, camping when the kids were little, lying (laying??) in the field watching the spectacular meteor shower, the dewey grass under us, crickets chirping and fireflies flitting about.
Mmmmm.
10 Comments

Filed under life, random, stuff

10 responses to “Look up, please

  1. I roasted a bunch of beets last night and had one in a salad, saving the rest for other good dinners this week. You’ll love them, but you better start roasting them NOW. 😉

  2. Well, at least you bleached the bathroom. Hahahahaha. That one made me laugh — I don’t know why.

    You had a relaxing vacay, and that is all that counts! Museum = good!

    You were going to visit Vermont and you never even told me???? Sheesh. 😀

  3. I’ve got beets, too, and I know how to use them! Yours look yum.

    Wouldn’t it be nice if we could take a vacation for as long as we needed one?

  4. Welcome back. I missed you while you were vacationing.

  5. If you lay/lie/whatever on the lawn, be careful not wake up that smart squirrel of yours. ;^)

  6. When you said visiting Vermont, I assumed you meant Norma…
    I miss being a kid, when vacation meant All Summer Long!!

  7. Nora

    Sounds like you did pretty well, evening without the gourmet dinners and yard sale!

  8. Sandy, could you email me? I don’t think I have your right addy.

  9. Mary

    Sounds like you had a great vacation. I am home all summer and have been doing about the same as you all summer long. With sick parents to care for every summer up until now I love the “hanging around time” I had this year.
    I’ve been to that museum when I first went to visit my sister.
    My sister is going to some “fiber thing” tomorrow. She said it was in Beverly or Salem can’t remember; maybe “Yarns at the Farm”?

  10. Oooooooh those beets look delicious!