some of this and some of that

I had to put the heat on this morning. I could not wait 1 more minute. Although I welcome the colder weather, I do not like to sit shivering in the mornings. And a change has happened to me over the last year or so. My feet get like ICE when it is chilly which then caused them to ache severely and supremely. So, the heat got turned on. For only 1 cycle to get the chill out of the air. And to thaw my aching feet. I did dig out my wonderful wool slippers which help a lot to keep the pain away.

I also wore my noro stripey scarf to work today. And a wool sweater. Kind of like heaven for us knitters, huh?

Another weird change has happened as of late. This confirmed non coffee drinker has been drinking my share of Skinny Vanilla Lattes. For this, I blame thank Norma. I have never once had a sip of coffee that I wanted to repeat. Now? I dream Skinny Vanilla Lattes. Seriously. (Gray’s Anatomy started again!) I figure I am getting a bit more calcium in my diet, staying blissfully awake, making my taste buds happy and supporting some coffee farmer somewhere. This can’t be a bad thing. (Unless we start talking about the cost of bad habits. Let’s not, though, okay??)

Weird:

Last weekend I attended my mother’s side family reunion. I arrived to pick up my Mom who had a ton and a half of pictures to bring with her. Which we forgot to bring. So we had to go back to her house of course to get them. Which set us up for SOMETHING to happen. Mom asked me to “pop” the trunk to put something in, which I did. Not knowing the quirks of my car, she did not know that the trunk bobs up and down unless you put it firmly in the upright position. Which she did not. She bent into the trunk just when the lid was on the downpop. Bang on the forehead. She shrieked in pain but there was no blood and after talking to her to see that she was okay, I did the old “suck it up, buttercup” kind of tough love. And she did.

About a 1/2 hour later, to say that she had a huge, angry, bruised egg on her forehead would be quite an understatement. My brother got her some ice which she then had to hold to her head for the duration of the party. Along with answering the question “What happened to you?” about 263 times. And the whole time? I felt like the beast child, allowing my car to whack my mom on the head. The nerve, doncha know. People giving me the sideways look wondering if I am really engaging in a bit of elderly abuse.

I could not resist taking a picture of her with her ice pack/towel. Heh. (I really am the devil child!!!)

Something went bump in the night

Something went bump in the night

That’s Mom on the left! Yes, yes, the one with the ice pack and cloth on her head. But the whole time, she is answering questions about the pictures. She could have won CONTESTS identifying long ago relatives, I tell you! She is GOOD! (which is a good test for head injury, I would imagine!)

Mom's egg head

Mom's egg head

This one is Mom with my brother and his wife. See the egg on her forehead? Please remember, that is was MY fault. 🙂

Poor Mom. By the time the reunion was wrapping up, everyone had talked her into going to get herself checked out (Although I was still in the “Suck it up, buttercup camp. I mean, Natasha Richardson aside, my Mom was not dizzy, nauseous, did not lose consciousness, clearly was not confused etc. ) And we did, stop by the ER on the way home. Which is where my Mom works, btw. So she checked in with her people, found out that she would have to wait more than 3.2 minutes and said “screw it”.
She is still alive to this day, I am pleased to announce.

But that is one more story to go into the family funnies.

~~

My sophomore year

My sophomore year

I found this while going through pictures:

That’s me, back row, left. I was 15 years old. Seems like a lifetime ago.

9 Comments

Filed under 1

9 responses to “some of this and some of that

  1. Nothing like some guilt from mom.

  2. She sounds like a tough cookie your mom. Glad she’s ok. Also – just wait for those eggnog lattes to come in November. Heaven in a cup.

  3. Oh please. Who would trust a car trunk? They are totally untrustworthy. Everyone knows that.

    Why, yes, I am past getting guilted by anyone’s mother. Thank you for noticing.

    xo

  4. Poor Mom! But she seems like quite the trooper, guilt aside!

  5. Manise

    Ouch! Glad she was okay despite the sizable goose egg. Hopefully she didn’t have a black to go with it. You have Raynaud’s?

  6. I had a trunk close on my hand many years ago so I know how untrustworthy they are. Just make the trunk feel guilty.

  7. Barbara M.

    Speaking of guilt, did I ever mention the time I knocked my 83 year old mother in law down with a car? Thought not…. She was only half-way in, getting into the back seat when I took my foot off the brake. Yikes! Thank goodness, nothing hurt or broke, but I was so upset…. 3 years later, she still doesn’t kid me about this, and she kids about everything. I guess she knows how terrible I felt!

    Glad to know your Mom is OK!

  8. Doris

    Ow, my mom had her finger broken in a trunk with that automatic close feature…when it got pressed on it closed and she was screaming, cause she was around the side and couldn’t reach the lock until someone came over.

  9. Trunks are evil. Mine’s always whacking me too. Your poor Mom! What a trouper.

    Eggnog lattes, yum.