What’s for dinner Wednesday

The big question as the cook of the family is “what is for dinner?”  Tonight I had to have an early dinner because we are going to an art show (Hi Faith!) so it had to be quick-ish. But delish, always.

Shaw’s Get Inspired Recipe Cards to the rescue! Tonight will be Skillet Baked Spaghetti . You can find the recipe here: CLICK FOR RECIPE

First, I gathered my ingredients.

Ingredients

I cooked the ground beef and sausage out of it’s casing until browned.

ground beef and sausage cooking

I drained the meat, added garlic (lots of garlic)

chopped garlic

I also added some red pepper flakes and oregano. When the garlic was smelling wonderful  I added 2 large cans of crushed tomatoes. (I doubled the recipe. We have a lot of hungry people eating here) And 3 1/2 cups of water.
Then in goes the spaghetti, broken up into smaller pieces. It looks a bit like a porcupine with the noodles all spiky.

Spaghetti goes in to cook!

About 12 minutes later, it looked delicious!
I then added about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of cream, a bit of shredded Italian cheese mix and then put the rest of the cheese on the top.  Into the oven it went.

Honestly, if I had to do it again, and I may have to it was that good, I won’t bother with the cheese on the top. It was not needed and won’t be missed.

Dinner is served!

It was absolutely delicious, easy and filling. A nice hot dinner to greet the fam. It is not trying to be health food, something we won’t dine on every evening but a taste bud delight to have tonight.

Bon Appétit

What’s for dinner at your house?

11 Comments

Filed under Sandy's Cooking

11 responses to “What’s for dinner Wednesday

  1. Sounds easy and looks yummy! I’m making homemade beef soup with lotsa veggies and pasta shells.

  2. Jenn C.

    Goodness that looks delicious!

  3. Jean E.

    Yum! (and I just ate dinner, so I should not even be hungry.)

  4. That looks like a keeper recipe.

    My dinner was at Captain D’s fish restaurant … country style fish, baked potato, cole slaw, fried okra, hush puppies and unsweet iced tea.

  5. Lately we’ve been cooking dinner in a crock pot. The nice thing is you toss everything in the morning and when you come home the house smells good and dinner is ready.
    Now I want spaghetti!

  6. Last night I brought home the most scrumptious loaf of whole-rye bread. We sliced it up and had it with tomato-red pepper soup (from a box, no less), and it was WONDERFUL. 🙂

    I had some more of that rye bread, toasted and topped with sunflower seed butter and my homemade elderberry jam, for breakfast this morning. It’s the little things. Mmmmm.

  7. Yum…may have to give that a try.

  8. I think I may have THAT for dinner!

  9. Elaine

    Homemade turkey/vege/orzo soup… It’s cold and rainy here; perfect weather for soup!

  10. This week’s fave? Roasted chicken ravioli (from Dave’s in Somerville) with roasted veggies (butternut squash, sweet potato, potato, onion, parsnip, golden beet, asparargus, carrot, and green beans) tossed with a simple Marsala sauce. I roast all my veggies on a cookie sheet — it cuts the time in 1/2. 🙂