You don’t have to hit me over the head with a comet (3 years in a row!)

One of my favorite memories of our camping trips in New Hampshire when the kids were small was when Bethany was about 3 years old. She had to get up during the middle of every night to use the bathroom (which you like to encourage in a 3 year old, if you know what I mean). But on a camping trip this meant coming out of our nice warm, cozy tent into the chilly August night air. We would make the familiar walk towards the bathrooms and along the way I’d notice how the way was lit by the moonlight, shining so brightly we did not need our flashlights. And how the stars blanketed the sky. And because we were always there during the peak Perseid Meteor shower time, we would be treated to many wonderful meteor sightings. Not just a garden variety shooting star either. The kind with the long tail. Just gorgeous!

It has occurred to me over the years that something that I did not want to do turned into something so memorable it is one of my treasured memories of family life.  That’s a life lesson, is it not?
But I did not learn it well enough. Last night was the Leonid meteor showers. My family, for the 2nd year in a row, planned to go out at 1 am to a dark place locally suitable for sky watching. For the 2nd year in a row, I did not go. You see, I treasure a good night’s sleep. I NEED a good night’s sleep. And I get up at 5:15 in the morning, which comes pretty fast if you are traipsing around town at 2 am!

However? It dawned on me today that as Bethany, Derek and Andy say to each other, “Remember that awesome huge meteor we saw last year?”, I get to say, “Remember that great night’s sleep I got last year? That was awesome.”

But of course, I don’t’ remember that night’s sleep. It is not special. So perhaps I should have stayed up, sucked it up (buttercup) in the morning and have a great memory when it was all said and done.

Next year, I plan to do it differently.

perseids

4 Comments

Filed under life

4 responses to “You don’t have to hit me over the head with a comet (3 years in a row!)

  1. From what I read, tonight could be good too! It was overcast here last night but tonight it is clear. I will try to wake up at 2 am and go have a look to the east. Then back into my nice warm bed!

  2. Manise

    I missed it too. Originally I thought it was at 2 am and knew I wouldn’t be able to stay up that late last night. I’d need the toothpicks for the old eyelids ya know? 1 am I could do. At any rate I too have memories of past ones and sitting in the dark on our bench in the yard bundled in blankets and down jackets with our necks craned skyward.

  3. Doris

    We missed it…my husband had the days mixed up…when he saw the date and the time, he never put it together that it was super early in the morning rather than super late that night ;). It supposedly is at it’s peak then and goes on until the 20th, but we have been talking cloudy ever since. Oh, well, next time.

  4. Don`t be so hard on yourself. Something could happen today and you`ll wish you had that good night of sleep last night. You never know.

    I love meteor showers, too. I heard that they dont just come and go in one night. They`re generally around a few nights leading up to them and afterwards. It`s the peak that`s the best, but not the whole show. I`ll have to check with my duaghter, the astro-physicist 😉