musings and a bit of begging at the end

Another Thanksgiving, come and gone. How does time go so fast? I have a decent amount of leftovers which some will become a wonderful turkey tetrazzini tomorrow or the next night. A few sandwiches, a soup and we’ll be done. Our fill of turkey.  Tonight I made a lasagna, not being about to think turkey thoughts one more minute. It sure does make the house smell wonderful.

And while I am on the subject of food, I have a crock pot of milk heating for homemade yogurt. I have looked into making yogurt before but did not want to buy another gadget to clutter my already cluttered kitchen. I am trying to get rid not receive! And frankly, those yogurt makers did not make much yogurt. If I am going to eat yogurt twice a day (at least) then making 6 whole containers does not last long and doesn’t seem worth the time.
Sometimes blogland is a funny place. I have yogurt on my mind, searching yogurt makers and then a good friend makes crock pot yogurt. Seems lots of times, we are all on the same wavelength. Great minds, and all.

Tomorrow night, hopefully I will be eating homemade yogurt.

Back to work tomorrow. Honestly, it might be more restful working than keeping up this Thanksgiving pace!

~~~

There is an emergency brewing and only us knitters can help.Thre is a Red Scarf shortage. Can we let that happen? Can we sit idly around while  some orphans, come February will have cold necks? Red Scarves are needed. Read about it here, think about knitting one up. A nice worsted yarn will knit up quickly, perhaps a pattern like the Irish Hiking Scarf? Just something I am thinking about….

Please.

 

2 Comments

Filed under life, Sandy's Cooking

2 responses to “musings and a bit of begging at the end

  1. I’ve been making yogurt in the crock pot for a few months now. (That, and the granola to go with it.) it’s easy, huh? And cheap. How can you beat that?

    http://chappysmom.com/2009/08/09/no-whey/

  2. I’m so in love with my yogurt (I strained some in a coffee filter inside a metal mesh strainer and it came out GREAT) that I can’t wait to make my next batch! And that warm milk was such a special treat, drunk in a cup before I added the yogurt culture. I felt so….. so…. old fashioned or something, having warm milk before bedtime with Abigail, and it was terrif!