I did it.

So here we are at the end of November. I posted every day of the month, I am pleased to say. I loved every minute of it.  I hope you had some pleasurable moments as well. While I will not promise posting every day (I know I will not in the coming months) I do plan to be a bit better of a FRIEND of bloggers by actually visiting their blogs and (SHOCK) leaving comments. I plan on leaving so many comments that you’ll be sick of me and beg me to go back to blogging myself just so that I will leave you alone for a change! 🙂

I made the homemade yogurt yesterday and as Norma says, I am ENTHUSED. To say the least.
One thing that you may not know about me is that over the years, I have been on a quest for healthy eating. Real food! To know what goes into my food and have a choice over that. That is not to say that I haven’t polished off a bag or three of Doritos in my time or that I don’t enjoy an occasional filet ‘o fish at McD’s. I do. But mostly, I like to avoid things like high fructose corn syrup and other ingredients that I cannot pronounce and have no place in nature that a conglomerate decides is good for MY food.
Well, I say, “NOT MY FOOD!” Hell no.

Hell. No.

This particular quest started when I had kids. Jarred baby food for MY baby? I think not. I don’t know what is in that jar! So, I made my own. I got a blender and blended up veggies and meats and fruits that Andy and I ate and I froze them in ice cube trays. I thawed and warmed them in a bowl of boiling water because I did not have a microwave at that time.

I am not perfect on this quest of mine. I still eat plenty stuff I wish I did not. But I am getting better. It gets easier as I get older.

So, making my own yogurt falls right into place with all of that.

Now, let me tell YOU that homemade yogurt is WONDERFUL! I love it. Love. LOVE! It is creamy, tangy, delicious and oh-so-white! Just beautiful to look at as well as to eat!

I basically followed the crock pot yogurt recipe here, with these exceptions.

Here’s how I did it:
I used 1/2 gallon of 1% milk from Whole foods. No hormones and pure, natural milk.

I added a 1/2 cup of powdered milk to add more protein and calcium to the mix. (I also bought this at Whole Foods)

I covered my crock pot and heated the milk on HIGH for about 3 1/2 hours until the milk was 180 °F (although I strived to readch 180º, it only got to 178º and would not budge up anmore). I then took the crock off the heating element and took off the cover, letting it cool to 120º which took under an hour.

I took about a cup and a half of the heated milk out and mixed into that about 1/2 cup of Stonyfield plain yogurt. I wrapped the covered crock with a bath towel and put it into the oven. leaving it there overnight.

9 hours later, I stumbled down into the kitchen expecting to find milk in the oven but I found yummy, creamy, thick yogurt.

I topped some with Starbucks sugar free vanilla syrup and a spootch of vanilla extract and brought it to work with me. What a delicious, nutritious treat.  I am over the moon about my homemade yogurt. And you will be too. It’s easy and moneysaving and one of those moments of magic in life that brings a smile to your face.

I plan to add some fruit to some of the yogurt, perhaps some mango  and some blueberries.

So many possibilities.

14 Comments

Filed under life, random, Sandy's Cooking, stuff

14 responses to “I did it.

  1. OMG, this looks even easier than all those make your own yogurt recipes that floated around 20 years ago! And I do have a crock pot…. I’m going to search out whole unhomogenized milk…. love that cream on top yogurt!

  2. Wow! My mom used to make yogurt when I was growing up. She had some sort of yogurt-maker and it wasn’t as easy as this. I must try this recipe! Thanks for sharing.

  3. I bought another gallon of Vermont milk tonight — $2.99. TWO DOLLARS AND NINETY-NINE CENTS is what my next four quarts of yogurt is going to cost me!!! FOUR! (well, add to that a little extra cost for the powdered milk and the electricity for the crock pot) And I can’t WAIT to make my next batch! In fact, I am making David eat it faster and I am eating it at every meal and for snacks (or at least it seems), so I can have room in the fridge for MORE. hee.

  4. Well, I was going to make chicken in the crock pot this week, but now, I think I’ll make yogurt. 🙂 Imagine… with the sweet delicious fruit preserves my friend Melissa gave me this summer?

    Does it get thick like Greek yogurt? I hate *shudder* runny yogurt. It’s got to stick to the spoon when you flip it over. 🙂

  5. Yay you!! Making yogurt is ON MY LIST!! Luv.

  6. bonny

    You may have changed my life with your crockpot yogurt-making directions! Back in the ’70s I had a yogurt maker that had 6 little jars and was basically a pain in the neck. This sounds much better. I’ve just rescued my old crockpot from my Goodwill donation pile in the basement and will start my yogurt as soon as I get home from work today. Thank you, thank you!

  7. Sara

    It’s even easier with a microwave. Get a really big deep microwave safe dish. Put that milk in and heat it in the microwave until you hit the magic 150 -180 degrees. (Takes several 5 minute runs.) Let cool until you can hold a clean finger in the milk for ten seconds. Mix it all up. I stick the pot on top of the oven vent hole. If it’s a cold night, I might turn the oven to 200 for a few minutes. Yogurt the next morning. I drain my yogurt in paper towelled colander a bit to make it thick. Before you ever start eating from the batch, reserve a half cup for the next round.

  8. Elaine

    Thank you so much for blogging each day! It is a commitment, but we sincerely appreciate it! I miss
    you when you’re not here…

  9. Doris

    Thanks for the recipe and enthusiasm. We eat a lot of yogurt and are going to try this one….hopefully this weekend.

  10. I’m just wondering WHY you’re not blo-mo’ing for December. That’s all.

  11. I may have to try this! I made my own baby food for Hannah, too. Not only was it better for her but it was also SO much cheaper. And she loves vegetables now and I swear it’s because she actually ate things that tasted like they were supposed to taste right from the beginning.

  12. Because you and Norma swear by crockpot yogurt I’m going to try it, too.

  13. Get sick of Sandy? Impossible.

  14. Love the crockpot yogurt idea. I might have to try it.

    And…

    SNOW!!!!!!!!!!!omg!!!!!!SNOW!!!!!!!!!