Joyeux Noel

how lovely are thy branches

There is something about this Christmas that I thoroughly enjoyed. Perhaps it is because we, as a family, decided to cut back a bit. The kid are adults now and I did not feel obligated to go all out anymore. What a difference it made. I did still go to bed exhausted to the bone last night but this morning I am remarkably refreshed after doing my own little holiday tradition: Falling asleep to the movie, The Christmas Story (“You’ll shoot your eye out, kid!”).

I hope that you have a great day planned for yourself and your traditions soothe your soul instead of tiring it out.

I will leave you with this little sequence of pictures as well as a heartfelt Merry Christmas, friend! Thank you for being such a great friend to me.

~~~

Mitchell loves to sleep on the back of the chair lately. As you can see, there is a big pillow for a back, which I am sure is very comfy. It does have it’s flaw though. It is a pillow and moves and scrunches around. As you will see. (As always, you can click a picture to see it bigger!)

Um, guys? Hello? I seem to have slipped down between the cushion

I'm fine, really. It's kind of cozy in here

I'm fine. I will climb out by myself then while you take PHOTOS!!!

I sincerely hope your holiday is all you hope it to be!

11 Comments

Filed under holiday talk, random

11 responses to “Joyeux Noel

  1. Merry Christmas, dear Sandy. We scaled back this year too, and it made all the difference. Family is what’s important.

  2. I also stepped back — way, way back. It felt great. Merry Christmas, Sandy!

  3. Merry Christmas, Sandy! Very cute cat photos.

  4. I hope you were laughing at him while taking photos. ;^)

    Merry Christmas, my Sandy!

    xo

  5. Elaine

    Those branches are indeed lovely…. Have a wonderful day!

  6. Merry Christmas, Sandy–and Mitchell, too!

  7. Poor baby! The insult! 😀

    Merry Christmas.

  8. Manise

    Merry Christmas Sandy! The indignity of it all- poor cat.

  9. Mery Christmas, Sandy. For the second year in a row we didn’t have a tree and I don’t miss it one bit. It feels like I get two extra days out of Christmas without all that work. We have a little table with a ceramic Christmas tree and the nativity. Even my youngest at 19 says it feels OK.

  10. Merry Christmas, Sandy! Poor Mitchell though. 🙂

    I cut way back this year too and it was wonderful. No racing around and last minute panic.

  11. jill

    My girls and I loved the kitty shots. Lots of giggles.